Common Proficiency Test(CPT) is an entry level test for Chartered Accountancy Course. This examination can be given only if the student has registered for the Course with the ICAI before 30th June, 2017. Those who have registered after 1st July, 2017, are not eligible for CPT and have to register for the recently launched CA Foundation.

Common Proficiency Test has four subjects i.e., Accounting, Mercantile Laws, General Economics and Quantitative Aptitude. This test is of 200 marks. This test is divided into two sessions of two hours each with a break of one and half hour in between. CPT is an objective type test with negative marking.

Subjects to be Studied:

SESSION – I (Two Sections– Two hours – 100 Marks)

  • Section A: Fundamentals of Accounting ( 60 Marks )

  • Section B: Mercantile Laws ( 40 Marks )

SESSION – II (Two Sections– Two hours – 100 Marks)

  • Section C: General Economics ( 50 Marks )

  • Section D: Quantitative Aptitude ( 50 Marks )

Examination Pattern:

  • There will total 200 MCQ’s carrying one mark each.

  • For Correct answer students will get one mark.

  • For Blank answers Zero marks will be awarded.

  • For Incorrect answers -0.25 marks will be deducted.

Passing Requirement:

50% of Total marks are required to qualify the CPT with 30% Marks in Each Subject. Students should secure overall 100 marks with Individual Passing as shown below:

Subject Minimum Marks
Fundamental of Accounts 18
Mercantile Laws 12
General Economics 15
Quantitative Aptitude 15

CPT Examination Schedule:

Paper pencil mode (Physical)CPT will be held twice a year: June and December. ICAI also conducts the Online CPT exam. For more details about online CPT exam please visit


Last Dates of Registration:

The last date for registration for CPT was 30th June, 2017. Registrations for CPT with the ICAI have stopped. Registrations for recently launched CA Foundation Course will be commencing from April, 2018.